• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Ever Contract.......scared.....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Ever Contract.......scared.....

Hi,

I'm sure there's been loads of similar posts but hey........

I've been working for my current employer for over 3 years. Safe job but I've grown to hate it and need a change. So, contracting looks like an option. I could also do with a bit of extra cash. I have a couple of potential contracts in the pipeline - both working for big blue chip companies on 'major new projects' etc.....sound like they could run for a year or so at least.

I'm a first timer and so it's a daunting step for me. No idea as yet whether to go down the Umbrella or Limited Company route as yet. Think I may stick to the former for the first few months just to lessen the difficulties of adjusting.

I'm not sure what I'm asking here, just a bit of general advice I guess. I'm mildly terrified by leaving behind the relative safety of a perm job. Oh, and I have a mortgage and no second income from a partner, plus a hefty CSA payment to my ex-wife to take into consideration.

Any welcome words, sage advice or warnings much appreciated.