• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Basics of VAT

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basics of VAT

Hi guys

Back again just clear some thoughts up.

I am a design engineer contracted to a company at the moment. I have a ltd company set up and I invoice my work every week. I havnt registered for VAT yet. But may do shortly.

For this example lets say Im on £15/ hour and I work 35 hours/week. I travel to and from work by car (Saab 9-3 2.0 tdi) and the mileage is 250 miles / week.

Is this calculation correct?

£15 x 35 = £525

£525 x 0.175 = £91.87, VAT amount to add on.

£91 + £525 = £616.87 (invoice amount with VAT).

So if we have 250 miles/week at £0.40/mile, gives a total of = £100 (providing diesel receipts are kept)

This would leave a VAT amount for the week of £91.87 on the invoice, with a £100 claimable expense.

Is this how it works? as the amount of expense out numbers the invoiced VAT.

You're confusing VAT with the mileage claim, they're completely separate entities.

Charge VAT on your invoice regardless of your travel arrangements.

Claim mileage against your invoice via your accountant.
    Science isn't about why, it's about why not. You ask: why is so much of our science dangerous? I say: why not marry safe science if you love it so much. In fact, why not invent a special safety door that won't hit you in the butt on the way out, because you are fired. - Cave Johnson

Comment