• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I need out :(

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need out :(

Hey,
    Right i'm 25 and I work in sales based commission only job in an dying industry. To say I hate my job is an understatment and over the past couple of months it has become clear to me that my job is making me serverly depressed, so I need to get out of it. I have to deal with some crazy people, in a poor working environment and because it's commission only, there's no real security as I live day by day not really knowning when the next pay day is going to be. I don't have any family as I grew up care, so I need security as I don't have anything or anyone there to fall back on if my work dries up. I don't sleep much because of all of this going round in my head.

I've got around £15k in savings and i've been thinking about what career path I can go down. I've only got 2 A levels so I was thinking about going to university but it's just too expensive now. As a result i've settled in my mind on working in IT as I use to know someone who did IT contract work with data bases and he earns a good whack, I haven't seen him for a while tho. I've also got a friend who works in recruitment got Hayes and deals with the IT stuff and he's always telling me about how he's getting £200 - £400 a day for them. So my thinking is that if I retrain in IT, then I could possibly get a half decent job through my friend.