• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

24 month rule when moving from umbrealla to ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

24 month rule when moving from umbrealla to ltd

I have been contracting in the City of London for the last 20 months via an umbrella company. I have just set up a Ltd company and have taken another 6 month contract also in City of London (so same location in the view of HMRC).

Does the 24 month rule span across by periods at the umbrella and Ltd company (in which case I can no longer claim as I have the expectation I will be in the same location for over 24 months), or do the 24 months effectively start again from the time I moved to the Ltd company?

Thanks in advance for your response

The rule goes on location not employer, so the switch won't make any difference - you should not claim travel or subsistence.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Originally posted by contractor59 View Post
      I have been contracting in the City of London for the last 20 months via an umbrella company. I have just set up a Ltd company and have taken another 6 month contract also in City of London (so same location in the view of HMRC).

Does the 24 month rule span across by periods at the umbrella and Ltd company (in which case I can no longer claim as I have the expectation I will be in the same location for over 24 months), or do the 24 months effectively start again from the time I moved to the Ltd company?

Thanks in advance for your response