• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A bit of Nastiness at work

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A bit of Nastiness at work

I was thinking last night about something that happened about fifteen years ago, back when I was a permie business analyst.

It was a big service organosation, with about 2k engineers and other staff , and there were the usual cycles of redundancies, so everyone was always on edge. especially the engineers.

There was a blonde bombshell secretary type, who, like everyone is, was fond of a bit of gossip. who's sh@gging who, who is in line for promotion, who is in trouble, what happening in Corrie etc.

One day the conversation turned to a particular engineer, who was a nice bloke. She made some disparaging comments about his work performance, how he always did a half baked job, how he always left a mess for the next guy to clean up and how much he deserved to be next out of the door. She had obviously picked this ip from talking to some of the other guys.

Well, the girls from work control leapt to his defence. Then the work control team leader waded in, and it got extremely heated, she was spitting bullets.

'What do YOU know about engineering. You are passing on gossip that could lead to this guy losing his job. He is actually a good worker, but YOU would have him out on his ear, no more holidays for his kids, lose his company vehicle, lose his home then possibly his wife. Pension, self esteem and who knows what else. So In future KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT'