• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

SC Cleared / MPS Vetting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SC Cleared / MPS Vetting

Hi, i'm new to the contracting scene and wonder if someone could help with a security clearance query i have?

My previous permant job, which ended last October, required me to work, un-supervised, in a number of police stations. Some were open to the public, some closed. To obtain clearance to work in the stations I had to fill out quite a few forms, with detailed information about myself, my parents and siblings. In addition information i.e. DOB etc for anyone i was living with at the time (friends, partners, lodgers). My sponsor was one of the Chief Superintendent's of the local force and he had to be present with me at the local Police HQ when my clearance pass was issued. The pass was renewed every year and if my circumstances changed e.g. moving house, then that info had to be submitted to the Police Vetting people.

My question is that I have been put forward for roles recently that may require SC Clearance, and i am unclear to exactly what level clearence i have (i was told it may fall under MPS Vetting) Given the detailed background checks etc I had done for my previous role does this constitute to the same level of clearance as SC Cleared?

Also does anyone know if like SC Cleared if it is valid for a similar length of time/transferable.

thanks in advance to anyone who can shed some light on this!

The chances are that you're going have to fill the forms in again.