• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can Accommodation be claimed fully as part of expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can Accommodation be claimed fully as part of expenses

Hi,
    I am new to contracting and after searching this forum I still havent found an answer to my question.

I have put it claims for expenses such as my accommodation. I have a primary residence elsewhere and as such I am staying in hotels to do my job.

My umbrella company has told me that my Accommodation expenses are redemable and that i cant just get the whole amount back.

Could someone please shed some light on this

Thanks in advance

It seemed to me that hotels could be claimed, but flats could not. It really depends on what your local IR office are like though.
    Insanity: repeating the same actions, but expecting different results.
    threadeds website, and here's my blog.

Comment

Thanks for the quick response,
      Looks like my umbrella company is telling me porkies.

I will speak to them again and see what they say

Cheers
      Asif

Comment

Originally posted by akhtara7
        My umbrella company has told me that my Accommodation expenses are redemable and that i cant just get the whole amount back.
        I'm sorry, what do you mean? I would imagine that you could claim the cost od accommodation as an expense. That would mean that you don't pay tax on that money before you get it.