• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Home Garage - Dual Home/Business Use implications?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Home Garage - Dual Home/Business Use implications?

Hello,

I'm an engineering contractor and am thinking of investing in some equipement to allow me to produce one off prototypes in my garage, should it be necessary (or profitable..) to do so at any point in a contract. I want the business to own the equipment (company assets) but I'm a bit concerned that this might imply that the garage is now for business use only, and I don't want to have to start going through change of usage, paying business rates etc, as I expect that I will only ever be using it in this way pretty infrequently.

Does anybody else do this who can offer advise? Also Any advise on how the equipment purchase would need to be treated in my books would be appreciated - at the moment I'm assuming I would just need to identify it as capital expenditure - i.e the same as my laptop which depreciates over time.

Thanks in advance,
    John

Originally posted by johnrees View Post
    Hello,