• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

CV rewrite

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CV rewrite

OK,

So I'm rewriting my CV along the lines of what is suggested here:

How to write a good CV :: Contractor UK - Contracting News and Guides

i.e. summary of key skills and experience, followed by details of specific roles.

Does

C in the Unix environment - I have > 10 years experience of programming in C on Solaris & Linux. Some people think I'm odd because I actually enjoy it. I particularly like dtrace.
    this sound OK or should I rephrase it?
    While you're waiting, read the free novel we sent you. It's a Spanish story about a guy named 'Manual.'

I think you need to keep it accurate. No one likes a CV that isn't truthful.

I'd remove the 'some' before 'people'.
    Practically perfect in every way....there's a time and (more importantly) a place for malarkey.
    +5 Xeno Cool Points

Comment

Some people prefer to write in the third person, but he is not so sure.

Comment

I did a cv for a potential role in Zurich, with all the jolly bits in, we Brits are quite informal now after all. Agent came back with can you formalise it, the Swiss don't like all this friendly stuff.

So I did, agent comes back with 'Boring, tedious, snore...Perfect!!'