• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Attitude towards working hours

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attitude towards working hours

Hi,

I'm pretty new to IT contracting, 6 months in and just renewed on my first contract. Coming form a permie past I'm somewhat unsure how to approach management of working hours within a contract.

I'm paid a day rate, but formally contracted to work 37.5 hours a week. We are not allowed to work any overtime on the contract as there is no budget for it, and so as I perceive things I should be working 37.5 hours a week, not more, not less. But eyebrows get raised when I'm not working until 8 in the evening or whatever as a deadline approaches. A deadline in a project which should have more people working on it rather than a very small core team, but can't due to not having the budget.

Should I be taking a more flexible approach and be giving extra hours for free (hours which should be being done by another person ideally) in order to achieve the deadlines put forward to us? I'm enthusiastic about the work, I enjoy it, but if I can work for free OR see my kids before bed, it doesn't really seem like much to think about.

I might clock watch, but only as I spend 4 hours a day on the M40 at present, so have little time to play with, in work and in my home life... So do other people have thoughts on going the extra mile when there's no obligation (or notable personal benefit) to do so?

Thanks

Chris