• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Breach of Agreement or not?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Breach of Agreement or not?

Hi I'm a newbie to this forum but I would like your opinion:

I've on several occasions requested a signed copy of contract from my previous client to no joy and as a result I have gone out and found a new contract (signed). Legally I'm obliged to give them a 30-day notice period despite the fact I have no signed contract?
    PS: My client always paid me on agreed rates even though no signed contract was given.

In England there is more than one way of showing that you agree a contract* so it doesn't need to be in writing.

As the client paid you and if they paid you within the terms of the contract then either side could go to court and argue that a contract existed even though they didn't sign it. Either of you can also argue that due to payments being made the contract terms where also agreed and the agreement was per the last contract on offer i.e. the one you returned with your signature.