• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A bit of help please!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A bit of help please!

Hi
    Im a IT contractor, whose working happily in a new contract, im on a lower rate than usual, but ive had a few months off - so im happy

I decided to go with a different umbrella company - so i would earn a bit more, as there fees were low!

what a joke this has turned out to be,

It seems like the umbrella company have had problems sending a VAT certificate to my employer/agency - well they sent the wrong one

this has taken 2 weeks to try to resolve - and im getting annoyed, since they havent been paid the vat from my agency - they have been deducting this from me (i beleive this usually happens, but when the VAT is on top,)

so i seem to be 20% of my wage down,

I have been complaining for a while, and they are dragging there feet

this morning i had enough, and i changed my umbrella company back to one i trust

i havent told the old umbrella, and i will keep moaning until I get the 111.50 quid they owe me (they have it as a Agency deduction on my wage slip

any tips or advice on what i can do to chase this up

would a legal threat work??

personally i was going to choose the name and shame option, im also i web dev, so it wouldnt be hard

any ideas?

Sorry to be a bit off topic but why are you buggering around with umbrellas? Why aren't you going LTD which would means you wouldn't get this hassle and more of your money in your pocket?