• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 "fines"?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 "fines"?

Hi everyone, bit of a newbie here but l have a quick question regarding the inside/outside IR35.

Am I right in saying that even if you do get caught being outside IR35 when you should be inside, the maximum penalty is recovering 100% of the tax you would have already paid had you been inside IR35??

Thanks!

Firstly it's the difference between whatever tax (in all it's combined forms) you actually paid and whatever tax you should have paid. Although the calculation can be quite complicated, it will broadly be the national insurance.

The 100% penalty is basically a doubling of this amount. Then interest gets added on - I believe to both the back tax and the penalty - and this interest rate is normally well above base rate.

So it you are 'caught' after 5 years, you could easily end up paying 2.5 - 3.0 times the original amount.

The 100% is supposed to be a maximum penalty for the most extreme cases, but my accountant has said that HMRC seem to have a pretty low tolerance lately for the 100% penalty.

Given this chap overpaid on tax - and was fined 70% when he got his sums wrong trying to correct the error (even though HMRC agreed that he had overpaid), it doesn't surprise me

Taxman penalises someone for paying too much - Telegraph

Comment

Originally posted by centurian View Post