• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Angling for redundancy from permie job.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Angling for redundancy from permie job.

Ok, first yes I know, I know. Shut it. I'm a contractor who just kind of fell in to a permie role and it has always paid so well that I've never made it back to proper work.

However I took an intra-company transfer to a new role six months ago and it's been crap pretty much from day one. Boss's boss got sacked four months ago and it's pretty obvious the writing is on the wall for what's left of the department. The office politics is tedious and it's just a depressing situation.

I've got about five years living costs saved up so I could just jack it right now. I plan to take six months or so off to stick my feet up, do some travelling, work on some side businesses before attempting to pick up a contract.

However if I get a redundancy package I'd be looking at 17.5-35k. Having sniffed around the intranet for various insecure spreadsheets it's likely to be on the lower hand of that. It would pain me to leave that on the table.

So has anyone successfully angled for redundancy before getting out of a permie job? Should I just stop putting effort in? Ask my boss outright?
    Last edited by DieScum; 27 April 2011, 17:35.

Originally posted by DieScum View Post
    However if I get a redundancy package I'd be looking at 17.5-35k. Having sniffed around the intranet for various insecure spreadsheets it's likely to be on the lower hand of that.