• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A conundrum of skills, a crossroads if you like.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A conundrum of skills, a crossroads if you like.

So, I was a contractor between 2003 and 2008, mainly doing SQLServer and .NET stuff (cam from an m$ background in permie stuff before that dev up to management). On the side I did some PHP stuff for a chap I know who had a design agency.

just over 3 years ago we had an opportunity to set up a business on the back of a large client project so the sister company to the design company was born, dealing in development stuff. Most of this was PHP/MySQL stuff due to the costs of M$ stuff for smaller businesses. Although I did return to a previous company to do some more ASP.NET webservices and SQLServer stuff in that time.

I quit the company about 4 weeks ago (with plenty of notice to smooth transition) to go back to contracting as I was fed up of being responsible for everyone else and essentially wiping lots of people's arses.

So at a crossroads. The contract market up here in Leeds/Bradford is OK I think. But I'm just not getting the interviews that I used to. I suspect that it's due to my CV being 'all over the shop'.

I have/had a php/mysql 6 months at a very big multinational if I want it, at a good market rate for php/mysql. But I turned it down, because commercially it makes more sense for me to return to SQLServer and/or .net development as the rates are better.