• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie Contractor Questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Contractor Questions

Hi all,

I'll give you a bit of background, then I'll ask the questions.

I've been working as a Mechanical Design Engineer for about 10 years doing PAYE contracts through a few design agencies. I'm in my early thirties, and I've decided it's about time that I worked for myself. I'm in the process of forming my limited company and going on the Flat Rate Scheme.

I've had a look through a lot of the posts on this forum, and they've been really helpful, but I need to clarify a few things, some of the questions will seem really dumb to most, but please have patience.

I've been offered a 6 month contract at £30ph (ltd), through an agency.
    Here's the questions:

1. Do I include VAT on the invoices? (so the total I would charge would be ~£36ph)

2. If the job advertisement has offered at £30ph, is it possible to get the company to increase the rate?

3. What can I claim for on the Flat Rate Tax Scheme? (Lodgings, Fuel..?)

4. At the end of the year if I've paid myself a very small salary (£1000), and the rest in of the earnings from the contract in dividends, would I be liable for corporations tax?, dividends tax? any other tax?

5. What is the going rate for a Design Engineer, I'm I selling myself short? (I know I not in the league of the IT guys)