• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Restrictive covenant

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Restrictive covenant

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum but not a new contractor. I have been a contractor on/off for the past 10 years, though I've rarely worked through an agency until recently.

My situation is this:
    I am currently with an agency, I am using an Umbrella company.
    My client wants to ditch the agency because they're taking a whopping cut c.30% from me and want to reduce their costs. The client tried to negotiate with the agency to reduce this cut without impacting on my rate without success - in fact the agent wouldn't budge (as usual the agency only has their interests at heart), I'm on a low rate as it is, the agent had the cheek to tell me that the client wanted to reduce my rate by 50% but the client told me he wanted to reduce his cut by 50%.

The client has suggested I go through another consultancy they deal with as their resource which they supply me back to the them. I'll be also resigning from the umbrella and operating through my own limited company.

The only paper work I have from the agency is an assignment sheet with no T&C's on it just the client location, billing details etc...

There isn't much from the Umbrella company either.

So will I get caught by this covenant or will it be the client?

thanks for your help in advance.
    ukiha2011

I was going to give you a long explanation.