• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Questions about LTD co!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions about LTD co!

Hi All,
    I'm a sole trader and I run online website which generate a large amount of cash (£200k+ yearly profit) I have been told to go to a ltd company, as it makes things easier. I have a few questions,

1/ When I pay myself a dividend, do I still have to pay the tax myself on this? for eg : I give myself a £80k dividend, do I have to hold back a percentage in a savings account to pay tax at end of year? Like payments on account

2/ I understand most business accounts have a limit of paying £30k daily using faster payments afaik ( at least with Barclays it does ) If I pay myself a large dividend, is there a way around this?

3/ I sell advertisement space to companies in USA, so this is outside the scope of VAT. do I still need to register for vat?

many thanks

1 - There is still tax on dividends if they are higher rate. As a rough guide if you take a salary of £12,000 and dividends of £27,000 then there will be no tax to pay. Any dividend in excess of £27,000 will result in tax of 25% of the excess, so keep that aside in a seperate savings account. This assumes no other income, and a normal tax code. You can of course take a lower salary if you chose.

When you set up the company you should think about making your wife/husband a shareholder too, if you have one, so that you can pay them dividends too.

2 - I think you can do a CHAPS payment for more.