• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Key attributes sought after in First time contractors

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Key attributes sought after in First time contractors

Hi,

I have been in UK in a permanent job as a Business Analyst for over a year, and want to try my hand at Contracting.
    I have about 4 years of BA experience out of which 1 year is in London.

I've sent out my CV to quite a few consultants, but havent had much success yet.
    I've tried tweaking my CV to make it more contract worthy, but I dont know whether that is making a difference.

Although this is a broad question, what are the attributes consultants look for when hiring contractors? And does a difference in the rate make a big difference?

Thanks

Originally posted by aparnaiyer82 View Post

Although this is a broad question, what are the attributes consultants look for when hiring contractors? And does a difference in the rate make a big difference?

Thanks
    Mostly that they have contracted before.

Unfortunately it's a chicken and egg situation........
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

The most important difference between a permie and a contractor is; no one knows how much a contractor knows, and how much s/he is worth. If the client needs expertise in a particular field, you always seem to have plenty of knowledge and experience.