• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Some things make you realise life's more important...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some things make you realise life's more important...

...than day to day contracting worries, the financial markets, Greek debt and transport strikes.

Yesterday I spoke with a young guy at the rugby club who I've been coaching for several months to help him reach his goal of playing 7s for Holland and possibly professionally. I had good news for him; a top English 7s touring team is prepared to invest in coaching him to a very high level and will offer him a contract to go to all the big 7s tournaments next summer. He didn't give the joyful response I'd expected. Apparently he had a fit at home a couple of weeks ago, went to hospital and was diagnosed with a brain tumor. At the moment not everything is known and more tests must follow, but apparently the doctors don't know how he'll be after treatment. 23 years old, gifted athlete, well educated, about to get married, an all round bloody good egg and my mate; now it's all ****ed up.

I suppose all you can do is get the best out of life every single day that you live and try to support your mates when this tulip happens.

I'd actually like to angry, but there's nobody to get angry with.
    And what exactly is wrong with an "ad hominem" argument? Dodgy Agent, 16-5-2014

Life can be a biatch, send him our
    Growing old is mandatory
    Growing up is optional

Comment