• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Jealous. Should I be?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Jealous. Should I be?

I've been at present clientco since June last year, with a 3 month break between Oct- Jan.

I've been doing a number of different roles including technical architecture/PM/BA etc.

While I was here they advertised for a perm BI Manager/Architect role of which I was unaware. He sort of turned up one day and so that meant there was two of us. Of course being a contractor I was not client facing and he took all of those roles and I landed up with all the grunt work / architecture.

Fine. I am contracting.

Now I'd given up a senior role earlier last year in charge of a team of 20, and even though I was on a six figure salary was still only titled as a senior manager. The offer to move to the US came up and fast track(2 years) into a directors role. For personal reasons I turned it down and went back contracting to which I regret. They know I've been looking for a more senior role elsewhere.

So the BI manager who is here, it was his first management job. Never done it before and I've had to wet nurse him. I've been attending a number of client pitches / presenting them etc, at the same time having to project manager and deliver the other projects using other contractors and shared resource.