• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question re business expense/benefit in kind - CCTV costs for residence/home office

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question re business expense/benefit in kind - CCTV costs for residence/home office

Hi,

looking for a bit of advice re whether I can charge to the business for having CCTV fitted (to residence/home office) to protect investment in IT equipment. (I'm an IT Contractor)

And whether any costs have to be pro rata - as benefit to personal/residence security as well.

Should explain work from home 2 days a week, and looking to protect sizeable investment Company has in IT equipment related to work. (2 x Laptops/NAS/Colour Printer etc)

This is due to a spate of burglaries in our area - (we already have a monitored Alarm fitted already - which acts as a deterent) But looking to make the house an unappealing to a burglar as possible.

I already have additional insurance policies for the Laptops on-top of the household/contents.

Any guidance/pointers in right direction appreciated.

Regards,

seyre1972

Is it wholly and exclusively for the use of the business? protecting your house???

Quick answer is no unless you want to go down the BIK route which just isn't worth it
    Last edited by northernladuk; 25 July 2011, 12:35.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Bit more detail - should have explained better

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post