• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT registration and accountant situation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT registration and accountant situation

Hi All

I have got an accountant that I want to use, but since my contract starts at the end of this month, I want to start using him start of September, so was wondering whether its a good idea to start doing things like VAT registration by myself. I am new to this, although the forum has helped a lot as I always come here to read before lifting a finger.

My problem is that since my contract is really kicking off later this month/next month, I don't want to start off with the services of an accountant so soon after all I'm not earning from the service he provides yet. What is the wise thing to do fellow forum members ?

Should I tell him that, help with the form filling and VAT registration but service/payment receipt will officially start in September ?

Also with accountants, does one have to sign a long term contract with them or is it purely pay as you go/monthly basis ?
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by platforminc; 9 August 2011, 10:45.

Are you serious? Go and get an accountant then you might stand a chance of not screwing something up.

Comment

What are you going to do when you are on the bench? Terminate his services because you are not billing anyone?

Comment

Originally posted by platforminc View Post
        Hi All