• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Second company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Second company

Hi all,
    I was hoping someone out there may have some advice for me on my ltd company.

I have been contracting now for 18 months advising companies on how to effectively use the internet.
    During my time I have noticed my clients like real life examples, rather than just general statements. To help in this area I decided to launch an online shop, where I could use some of the techniques I talk about and show my clients. This has shown some good returns with repeat work etc. Plus, to be honest, it’s a great way of investing the profits of my company in a way that hopefully will give me a second source of income.

My problem is, my accountant has now decided they won’t support the shop as part of my company and have stated I have to run it as a sole trader. In the first year it is going to cost me £15k-£20k to get going which I just don’t have in a personal bank account (and I have already spent out of my company account).
    Is there options like funding a separate company with the profits of my current one? Or another option.

I am of course looking into moving to another accountant, but worried this is going to become a common statement from them.

Any advice or thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Originally posted by acrobat View Post
    Hi all,
    I was hoping someone out there may have some advice for me on my ltd company.