• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Locum job alongside FT job....tax issues

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Locum job alongside FT job....tax issues

Hi All
    I am a newbie so apologies if I ask any naïve questions here, I am a pharmacist who has just qualified although I have a full time job, I intend to partake in locum work as well (freelance) or what you guys term contracting (approximately 4-6 shifts a month). I have opened a ltd company, this was done with little advice but I am not sure if it’s the best option for me, I am ok to do my own paper work as I don’t expect it to be very involved/complicated like a career contractor, instead what I intend to do is just keep my spreadsheet up to date and be more enlightened.
    I have been told be someone that I can easily do a self assessment instead of all the responsibilities that comes with being a director of a ltd. I am after some advice here on what I can do.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

I don't know who told you to open a limited but they obviously didn't tell you about the paperwork you have to submit to Companies House every year as well as doing your self-assessment as a director.

Anyway look over to the right hand side and you will see a box with the title "CUK Navigation". Click on "Limited Companies" and start reading.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

I am still amazed how people take on the financial and legal responsibilities of limited companies without a clue what it is about.