• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Paying Dividends

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Paying Dividends

Hi,
    I wanted to confirm my understanding of the dividend payment process as its my first time.

- Paying dividend after about 3.25 months
    - Just did a spreadsheet to work out the outstanding liability such as VAT and other expenses including salary for Aug. For example, i have now 100 quid to pay as dividend.
    - Now I leave corp tax (20 quid) into the account and pay 80 pounds to shareholders (0.80 per share)
    - Prepare Minutes and issue Divi vouchers to shareholders (Not sure If I should ask accountant to prepare them first time)
    - Make the payments to shareholders. and pass the details to accountant next month so that he can update his books.

Is there anything my accountant or I should do to make sure that I am following the right process?

Also, I am hoping that it's ok from HMRC standpoint if I don't keep enough amount in the business account to cover the salary for the remaining year? I am just leaving corp tax, VAT and a bit more for small expenses. I still have a contract so I should be able to build some revenue again.

Cheers

Originally posted by dagenheis View Post
    Hi,
    I wanted to confirm my understanding of the dividend payment process as its my first time.

- Paying dividend after about 3.25 months