• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice for Newbie

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for Newbie

Hi,

I'm a newbie. Never contracted before.

I've been out of I.T. for a few years but it seems my old skills are still in demand. I've a chance of a contract in operations/technical support on some old kit I used to work on in the nineties. Minis/small mainframe. The rate offered is £25 an hour. I understand that there is some shift work involved and the odd weekend.

Is this good, bad or average. I've absolutely no idea. Would a different rate normally apply outside 9-5, or does an agreed rate apply 24/7?

The agency has put me in touch with Giant to use as an umbrella company, but
    looking at their pay method of minimum wage, and the rest as a dividend and allowing you to claim £75 a week unreceipted subsistence looks decidedly dodgey if the Inland Revenue were ever to audit me. If I go with a PAYE umbrella it seems this is worse than going on the employers payroll due to having to pay employers N.I. contributions. There must be a benefit in contracting over permanent, what am I missing?

I may have to sign initally for 6 months and I don't want to make a mistake at the start thats going to haunt me for that long. I'd like to forget about the money once it's all settled and enjoy the return to I.T.

Any advice greatfully accepted.

Claudius.