• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Trick by HMRC?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Trick by HMRC?

Hi - I need some advice on how to tackle a situation I find myself in.

Background - I am an IT contractor and I have a Ltd co. with myself as the Director and spouse as 50% as shareholder. I also paid my spouse a salary of 6k in the year 2010-2011. The company was set up in March 2010, so till now no accounts, returns have been submitted.

My spouse received a letter from HMRC telling her that her tax code was being changed. The letter exactly as it is worded below

Your personal allowance 7475
    employer benefits -2173
    tax free amount 5302

If we have got this wrong, or if your circumstances have changed and you think it could affect the tax you pay, please tell us. Our phone number and address are above. We turn 5302 into tax code 530L to send to xxx ltd. They should use this code with the tables they receive from HM Revenue and Customs to take off the right amount of tax each time they pay you. We tell xxx what your tax code is but we do not tell them how it is worked out.

And then a note which got my attention

We have to see if anything should reduce your tax free amount. You have to pay tax on the value to you of benefits, or expenses, provided by your current or previous employer. If want to know precisely how we have worked out 2173, please contact us.