• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Windows Netbook wants to use iMac's DVD drive

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Windows Netbook wants to use iMac's DVD drive

Hello all

My DVD-less Windows XP notebook needs access to a DVD drive. Rather than buy an external drive, I believe I can network to my Mac's DVD drive (iMac, Snow Leopard) but I'm no expert on networking so any step by step help would be gratefully received.

The machines are connected by an ethernet cable. So far, I have managed to read files on the Netbook's hard drive from the Mac , and vice versa. I can also print from the Netbook to the printer attached to the Mac. So far so good. How do I get the Netbook to find and recognise the Mac's DVD drive please?

Originally posted by simontax View Post
    Hello all

My DVD-less Windows XP notebook needs access to a DVD drive. Rather than buy an external drive, I believe I can network to my Mac's DVD drive (iMac, Snow Leopard) but I'm no expert on networking so any step by step help would be gratefully received.

The machines are connected by an ethernet cable. So far, I have managed to read files on the Netbook's hard drive from the Mac , and vice versa. I can also print from the Netbook to the printer attached to the Mac. So far so good. How do I get the Netbook to find and recognise the Mac's DVD drive please?
    You need to enable DVD/CD Sharing on the Mac.

Preferences -> Sharing - > DVD/CD tick box.

Should now be visible over the network.