• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

BA trying to act like my manager

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BA trying to act like my manager

Hi all

Currently a permie, and yes I know this isn't Permie UK, but the problem may be of interest to others, and I'm sure the panel will have some interesting ideas on how to tackle it regardless.

I'm a dev team lead - one of several dev team leads working on the same large project. We've got a relatively new business analyst joined us, and I had my first meeting with him today. I need to work with him to get some information from the business.

He suggested this meeting as a way of finding out what support I need from him in getting the information I need - great, that the BA's job - to get the information from the business, and provide it to me.

I explained how I was structuring the spreadsheet that we would use to capture this information, and what my next steps would be in its construction (basically building a matrix to match up what we think the requirements are to a slightly different set that they recently provided).

Through the conversation, he started saying stuff like "could you please add another tab for blah blah blah", and then at the end of the conversation he said something like "if you could just carry on with building that matrix, that would be great". Talking like he's my boss or something, and talking as if the work I'd already said I was doing was some task he'd given to me.