• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company secretary and setting up a pension

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company secretary and setting up a pension

Hi guys im new to contracting and i have 2 questions

1. is it legal to make my partner my company secretary a pay a dividend (my ltd doesn't currently have a secretary, just a director, me :>)

2. What the best way of dealing with pensions.

any advice on the above would be great

You can appoint your partner if you want to but companies formed under Companies Act 2006 aren't required to have a company secretary. The Articles of Association of your company will tell you how dividends can be declared. A director is usually able to declare interim dividends so, as long as you are happy that the company has sufficient profits, you just need to complete a board minute and dividend voucher.
    Pearce & Co
    Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Adviser

These comments are for information purposes only and are not a substitute for specific professional advice.

Comment

Best answer to both of these, and I know it winds people up, but is to get an accountant for advice. It is legal to appoint a secretary and pay dividends in theory but if you get it wrong it will cost you big time.

Pensions is pretty straight forward and you save on corp tax so worth doing if you have other investments as well IMO...

But an accountant can save you cash if he does it right for you so go for that.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment