• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Renting two properties - Can I claim rent in full for one property?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Renting two properties - Can I claim rent in full for one property?

Hi,

I am working through my own Limited Company and I am out of IR35. My wife is also the director of this company and getting salary and dividends from it.

I have been renting one property in London for last 4 years.
    I have recently got my first contract and moved to Edinburgh but I have not left the First property and still paying the rent for that.
    So I am paying rent for two properties. Both the rent is going from my personal bank account.
    I have not left the London property as I want to go back to London in few months time. So I have rented my second property purely because I need to carry out this contract.

My family is currently living with me in Edinburgh and planning to go back to London even before I finish my contract in Scotland.
    My question is:
    1. Can I claim my Edinburgh property rent in full? please clarify with the reason.
    2. Can I claim other daily household expenses as well? if not then what else can I claim as the purpose of the second property is purely to assist me in carry out my contract so I may be allow to claim other expenses but I am not sure what else I can claim?

Please help.

Thanks & Regards,