• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agencies that are good and ones to avoid

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agencies that are good and ones to avoid

Hi all,

Nelly Newbie here (just registered..first posting)

I am about to contact a few agencies (obviously I don't want to contact ALL of them)

Can anyone name a few good ones or ones to avoid?

much apreciated.

The good one is the one that has the contract you want.

If you do a search of the forum you'll find plenty of people naming agencies that have upset them in some way.

Comment

What is a good agency to one contractor (MSB for me) will most likely be the black death of agencies to other contractors.

Regards

Mailman

Comment

Don't bother blanketing your CV off to agencies. Register on CW Jobs, Jobserve and Jobsite and reply to any ads that catch your eye.

Edit - I agree with Mailman, I wouldn't touch MSB with a tulipty stick. But if they have the contract you want at the rate you want, and pay on time, you can't ask for much more.
        Last edited by Mordac; 24 April 2006, 09:27.
        His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...

Comment

Thanks for the advice, I will do exactly that.

another quick question if I may...

when a job is advertised as £200 per day (or whatever it is)
          does that usually mean that any travel costs incurred would have to be negotiated or would they expect to pay "reasonable" travel costs?

thanks

Comment