• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Complicated phone question and trying to avoid mixing personal use

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complicated phone question and trying to avoid mixing personal use

Hi All,

I'm in a situation where I do have a personal mobile phone which is what I used as a permie, thats what all the agents etc have, now being a contractor I have to do on-call and sometimes call my clients who are also based in the states. My contract requires me to do oncall, work from home when I'm convering etc.

I really dont want to take out another contract in the companies name, which is the right thing to do, I also need a phone with internet access so that I can access gig emails, i.e when there is a problem etc.

I also need a landline, as I figured out its cheaper to call abroad on that, in some cases even free that using a mobile.
    I also need a broadband for VPN, which is used for company related stuff all the time.

Now, with mobile can I put this as company expense, as all I have to do is just change the DD. Dont really want to go through the hassle or applying for a new contract, new number etc. MY current number, I dont know who has it, and changing it may be a problem.

Land line which I dont use, but need it for brandband is also on my name, can this be shifted to company as well.

What are the rules on furnishing a home/office arrangement ?

Thanks in advance.