• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Just been benched...in time to retrain for December?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just been benched...in time to retrain for December?

Hi all, SQL DBA for umpteen years but had enough of agents asking me for Dev skills I don't have (and I've been a DBA long enough to remember when we didn't have to create code!) and screwing me ever further down on rates, so going to hit the books on RS/IS (as well as a damn good brush-up on T-SQL). All this should take about 2-3 weeks, and wanna aim for about the 400/day mark.

Questions:

1) Good idea, businesswise?

2) Is December totally dead? I could batten down the hatches until Feb but I'd rather be generous with friends/family this Christmas;

3) If #2 is a "Yes!", any of you lot take non-IT work to fill in bench time? What kind? (just not pulling pints, please!)

Originally posted by JaybeeInCUK View Post
    Hi all, SQL DBA for umpteen years but had enough of agents asking me for Dev skills I don't have (and I've been a DBA long enough to remember when we didn't have to create code!) and screwing me ever further down on rates, so going to hit the books on RS/IS (as well as a damn good brush-up on T-SQL). All this should take about 2-3 weeks, and wanna aim for about the 400/day mark.

Questions:

1) Good idea, businesswise?