• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How do you deal with a poorly organised client?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What has been your most poorly organised gig and how do you deal with it?

Came in to this one for technology X where I am an expert. Work is manageable.

Anyway, they "are so happy with what I'm doing" that they have now assigned me work on technology Y. I have no experience of tech Y. There is no documentation on the process to follow. There are just a few blokes who have been doing it for years. It's 90% arcane, convoluted, internal process and 10% tech stuff I can pick up from the manual.

Which would normally be fine, happy to be paid to learn new skills, however they have assigned me the most complex, high profile work possible. If it is delivered late there is a cost of several hundred thousand dollars.

One of the Y experts sat me down to train me by correcting some of the work I had done. He started taking apart one of my pieces of work. You've missed out this. We don't do it that way. After the first five minutes or so, quite confused, I pointed out that this wasn't actually my work. It was the example he had given me and expected me to copy. Words fail me.

I'm a bit concerned that the difficult jobs are getting shoved to me as the new meat when obviously you want your most experienced folk on the tough stuff.

So when do you raise the red flag and how do you phrase it. "I'm very happy to do the work but there's a big risk to the project if I start off on the high profile tasks."