• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is ctrl-alt-del on the steering wheel the answer?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is ctrl-alt-del on the steering wheel the answer?

The moment a computer crash nearly caused my car crash

I should have tried turning it off and on again

I am a systems administrator. I work surrounded by various computers of all capabilities and description all day long, every day. And in the heat of the moment, it still simply never occurred to me that the car's computer could be responsible for such a thing.
    Behold the warranty -- the bold print giveth and the fine print taketh away.

I was driving a Ford Focus on the M4 when the cam sensor failed. The computer decided the best course of action was to cut all power then kill the engine. I had to coast over to the hard-shoulder tuliping myself all the way.

I don't have a Ford anymore.

Comment

Originally posted by bless 'em all View Post
      I was driving a Ford Focus on the M4 when the cam sensor failed. The computer decided the best course of action was to cut all power then kill the engine. I had to coast over to the hard-shoulder tuliping myself all the way.

What do you think it should do. Carry on trying to guess when to initiate a spark?

Comment

What have you got now?

Comment

That article is crap though...

The issue in detail was that while stopped at a red light, one of my wheels was apparently stuck on a patch of black ice, while the other wasn't.