• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving mid contract umbrella to ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving mid contract umbrella to ltd

I have been contracting for a couple of years via an umbrella co.

I am a couple of months into a contract, and considering moving to a ltd co vehicle.

I've had a search on the forum and read mixed reviews about moving mid-term.

If I was to move mid-term, what happens to the expense claims etc? is this easy to transfer (assuming a transfer is required)

You can't transfer the expense claims. Either they happened when you were employed by the Ltd or when you were employed by the Umbrella. So either you pay them from your Ltd or from your umbrella depending on who you were employed by at the time you incurred them.

Most agencies won't let you chance part way through a contract. Depending on the length left to run it might be easier to wait and do it at renewal.

Comment

Originally posted by jonpd View Post
      If I was to move mid-term, what happens to the expense claims etc? is this easy to transfer (assuming a transfer is required)
      The saving in NI would dwarf all but the most extreme expense claim.

Comment

I have been contracting for a couple of years via an umbrella co.

I am a couple of months into a contract, and considering moving to a ltd co vehicle.

I've had a search on the forum and read mixed reviews about moving mid-term.