• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self assessment return query

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self assessment return query

Hi,
    This is my first year contracting and have my first self assessment to complete by 31st January....apparently.

I didn't think I needed to complete a return this year as my ltd company did not start Trading or invoicing until the end of April 2011. The company however was registered on 29th March putting it in the 2010/11 tax year. Do I need to complete a nil return for this or can I get away with not doing one?

Thanks in advance

Nev

Try here:

HM Revenue & Customs: Do you need to complete a tax return?

I think it depends on what income you had in 2010/11 - if any was untaxed then you will need to complete a return
    "The budget should be balanced, the Treasury should be refilled, public debt should be reduced, the arrogance of officialdom should be tempered and controlled, and the assistance to foreign lands should be curtailed lest Rome become bankrupt. People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance." Cicero

Comment

Just did mine this evening, also noticed I did it slightly wrong (in my favour) last year, what are the chances being caught??
      Science isn't about why, it's about why not. You ask: why is so much of our science dangerous? I say: why not marry safe science if you love it so much. In fact, why not invent a special safety door that won't hit you in the butt on the way out, because you are fired. - Cave Johnson

Comment