• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Redundancy

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Redundancy

Hi,

I am being made redundant in November, I have been working for the same company for 5 years. They have offered me a new 6 month contract role to take me to March and say I will not get any redundancy payments. I am not happy with this as in March I will be out of a job but this time with no redundancy.

It is my understanding that if an employer offers alternative employment it should be of similar conditions, pay etc.. am I right in saying being offered a contract job instead of permanent that this is not a similar role and so I should be entitled to some form of redundancy?
    Surely a company cannot do this, isnt this a way for them to get out of paying redundancy? What can I do?

Sounds like you're right to me.

For a definitive answer, call ACAS right now on 08457 47 47 47. Their guys really know their stuff and will tell you the score in just a few minutes.
    I'm Spartacus.

Comment

Originally posted by Spartacus
      Sounds like you're right to me.

For a definitive answer, call ACAS right now on 08457 47 47 47. Their guys really know their stuff and will tell you the score in just a few minutes.
      Second that - I think your employer is hoping you fall for their trickery.

Comment

Originally posted by hymas
        Hi,