• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is my accountant legit?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is my accountant legit?

My end of year accounts are due 31st Jan, for my limited company. I am a contractor. It was my first year as a limited

My accountant has not asked for any bank statements, only an expenses, profit/loss sheet. How can I do my accounts without seeing bank statements? Does he just take my word (like self assessment)

Thanks

First of all, is your 'accountant' qualified? Anyone can set up as 'accountants'.

If your company is not required to have 'audited' accounts (which is unlikely as this mainly applies to companies with a turnover in excess of £6.5 million), then the account can be compliled from any documents that the 'accountant' deems suitable.

We would not prepare annual accounts without seeing a copy of the bank statements, indeed we also see copies of invoices and expenses etc so that we can check these as well.

Alan

Comment

Originally posted by John Crowe View Post
      My end of year accounts are due 31st Jan, for my limited company. I am a contractor. It was my first year as a limited

My accountant has not asked for any bank statements, only an expenses, profit/loss sheet. How can I do my accounts without seeing bank statements? Does he just take my word (like self assessment)

Thanks
      Without going down the - is he an accountant slant that Alan is taking...

Are we talking your Company Tax Return or your Companies House accounts?