• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Recruitment Agency commission

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recruitment Agency commission

Hi. Hope u can shed some light. I am an accountant currently working on a 4 month contract which i started in December. I was brought in for a specific purpose and doubt the contract has room for extension which is fine. The problem is that my recruitment agent is charging the company GBP 29.7 for every hour i work and I am paid GBP 18.3 inclusive of holiday pay which means ultimately what i get per week is GBP 16.33 while the rest is retained. The agency profit is 38%, i just feel this is too high. Is it a reasonable commission? please advice as i am really restless about it. All i need to know is if its too much or appears reasonable then perhaps i will calm down or if you guys think its a rip off then at least i know.

The agent is probably paying employer's National Insurance contributions of 13.8% on your £18.30, bringing their costs to 20.83 and their profit to 30%. For IT (like most of us here) for a 4 month placement that would beat the low end of rip-off territory. 20% would be more normal, though that wouldn't include the payrolling and extra admin that your agent is doing.

Comment

Originally posted by jenanda View Post