• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What's the biggest change the world has seen in your lifetime?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's the biggest change the world has seen in your lifetime?

As someone just turning 30, I suppose I'd plump for how it's not only so easy to contact anyone, but socially expected that you BE contactable.

I happened to be right on the cusp of two big shifts in communication - I started university just as mobile phones became ubiquitous, and I graduated just as Facebook was kicking off.

What would you nominate, and roughly how old are you?
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Anyone use Google Latitude?

Comment

Channel 4

Before then there were only 3 channels, yes I know hard to believe only 3 channels, and they shut down at midnight

Comment

Surely it has to be the internet for everyone especially if for the internet you mean the Worldwide web.

Unfortunately it will end up being a new Dark Ages when history investigates this era. As someone (MF?) commented yesterday the quality of our paper is such that nothing lasts 50 years, and now everything is electronic most things will eventually just bitrot away.

So when for the first time ever knowledge is easily available and free (even if Wikipedia is only half accurate) the chances are that 200 years from now we'll know nothing about the early 21st century.
        merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment