• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting a mortgage - FTB

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting a mortgage - FTB

Hi all,

it's me bothering you again. I am finally looking to get onto the property ladder at the ripe old age of 28. If anybody could offer me advice on the best route to take I would much appreciate it. I am looking for a house in the region of 250,000 with a deposit of 10% and might be able to stretch it to 15%. I have been contracting for 2 years now so will have 2 years of accounts by April. I have been looking at a number of options for first time buyers, so far this one seems to appeal the most:

Contractor Mortgages Made Easy - they have annulised my rate and got me a mortgage approved in principle over a year ago but at a very high rate - 5.65 for a 10%

Has anybody tried this route or found any other route to be preferable? High street banks are useless as they ask for income rather than looking at your rate, so I am thinking that's not worth trying anymore?

Any advice would be much appreciated here.

Thanks

Originally posted by NorthWestPerm2Contr View Post
    Has anybody tried this route or found any other route to be preferable? High street banks are useless as they ask for income rather than looking at your rate, so I am thinking that's not worth trying anymore?