• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Inability to stop questioning tulip design and standards

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inability to stop questioning tulip design and standards

OK - Part Q / Part Rant

For those longer in the tooth than me....how do you stop looking at what's in place and basically telling thier design, policies and standards are tulip?

Even as a consultant I'd get too personal with the design, spending lots of time and energy on trying not just to give a solution that worked but was good (not OTT but fit for purpose i.e. not just a hack).

Now I'm in a large organisation but within a small satellite entity that's been largely left untouched by the big brother. As such they have adopted som of their own best practices and standards that are archaic and derrive from at time when storage was expensive or database locks and poor query performance were common.

Now I can sit there and just add to the tulip that's already there or try to make a difference. the business side know's that it's best not to ruffle feathers, do as they do and keep billing. But the professional in me weeps when I see it.

Anyway, meeting tomorrow to present a new sleeker governance model to get away from the fortnightly talk-shop model currently in place.
    Anti-bedwetting advice

Originally posted by Notascooby View Post
    OK - Part Q / Part Rant

For those longer in the tooth than me....how do you stop looking at what's in place and basically telling thier design, policies and standards are tulip?