• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividend Income – How much?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividend Income – How much?

I am new to contracting and having recently moved from permie to a contract position. My accountant has told me that I have the option of taking either the full dividend from the company at the end of each month or I can take out a lower dividend keeping the rest in the company accounts.

However, he also suggested that the latter option is better as when I will close the company, the available reserves in the company account will be subject to a lower tax than if I were to take the full amount available every month and pay a higher dividend tax on the income at the end of each FY.

I am not sure exactly how the accountant made the assumptions and if anyone on this forum can help make me decide which is the better option, that will be much appreciated.

Each year you get tax bands, and income up to £42,475 is considered basic rate. Dividends within the basic rate tax band are effectively tax free. Dividends in higher rates are taxed at 25%. So, you can chose to empty the company account each month, but if you do then you may suffer some higher rate tax at 25%. The amount you pay will depend on your overall income - salary, bank interest, rental income etc - as they all eat into your basic rate band allowance.