• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting and Medical Operations

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting and Medical Operations

Before NLUK comes up and starts telling me to search, I have, and I haven't found the answer to my question so FOAD mate!

I am no medical expert but I know my knee is ****ed, and more than likely gonna need an operation to get it sorted out as driving at the moment is only making it worse and I don't want to have to go down the line of an automatic car any day soon, now logic would dictate to do this while on the bench, which fingers crossed is looking like June/July time.

For the time lines I want I guess I would have to go private for a scan and then op based on the findings as waiting for the NHS will no doubt be a ball ache. Now the scrooge in me say's how can I do this in the most cost effective way, is there an option to buy some sort of insurance that can pay my daily rate if I am unable to work after the operation? Would this only be allowed if i was in contract? Or can it be done while benched using an average of past rates etc?

If push comes to shove I will just take the hit and pay what ever it takes to get my knee sorted as to replace the entire knee will cost no more than £10k, so a £5k or so to stop the pain once and for all is peanuts.

(PS no "knee op" is not an eupahism for moob reduction, gender swapping or any other pre/post op joke you can throw in)
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?