PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Air FTW!



NickFitz
5th February 2012, 01:53
Just got around to installing Parallels and booted a Windows XP SP3 VM.

Less than 10 seconds from initiating boot to "There are unused icons on your desktop"! :yay: :banana: :music:

scooterscot
5th February 2012, 10:11
Install XP with SP 3 a couple of nights ago on a headless mac mini using parallels.

Screen shared through my iMac. Works a treat whilst hardly consuming iMac resources.

Speaking of XP, why is every client site I walked onto still using XP? Should they not be on Windows 13 by now?

(We all know how it went for Now that's what I can Music 1. Remember buying the first on cassette!)

Troll
5th February 2012, 13:54
Just got around to installing Parallels and booted a Windows XP SP3 VM.

Less than 10 seconds from initiating boot to "There are unused icons on your desktop"! :yay: :banana: :music:So if it's so great why are you installing a Windows VM ?

Serious question as everyone I know with one does the same...

administrator
5th February 2012, 14:29
Just got around to installing Parallels and booted a Windows XP SP3 VM.

Less than 10 seconds from initiating boot to "There are unused icons on your desktop"! :yay: :banana: :music:

I get that on my Windows machine with SSDs now, super quick! My home-office machine, still on old SATA drives can take 5 mins from restart to being fully loaded. Just looking at getting new MOBO and drives here as well now :D

NickFitz
5th February 2012, 16:20
So if it's so great why are you installing a Windows VM ?

Serious question as everyone I know with one does the same...

The names of the VMs are a clue: "XP IE6", "XP IE7", "XP IE8"...

I also have some Linux VMs but they're also just for browser testing and playing with stuff.

doodab
5th February 2012, 17:29
Switching on my win7 laptop from sleep takes less than a second.

Win 2008 Server, Solaris, Linux VMs all resume in seconds. It's basically proportional to the size of the VM RAM and the transfer rate of your disk. I'm limited to about 250MB/s by SATA II at the moment. That's the trouble with 3-5 year old hardware.

I was rather impressed with my oracle DB on Win 2008 VM the other day, I was getting better throughput than the clients 8 way sun box connected to their SAN. I was surprised because I though they all had flash accelerators in these days. Gotta love SSDs.

I'll be interested to see how it goes when I get my new machine with 32GB, SATA 6Gbps and an up to date CPU.

scooterscot
5th February 2012, 19:16
Switching on my win7 laptop from sleep takes less than a second.

Well if you do keep your finger on the button it's to be expected.

d000hg
6th February 2012, 01:32
Just got around to installing Parallels and booted a Windows XP SP3 VM.

Less than 10 seconds from initiating boot to "There are unused icons on your desktop"! :yay: :banana: :music:Is that brand new or a slightly older spec? They are gorgeous but I've no reason to spend so much for so little (literally :) )

NickFitz
6th February 2012, 02:17
Is that brand new or a slightly older spec? They are gorgeous but I've no reason to spend so much for so little (literally :) )

Brand new, bought yesterday. Excellent machine - even Eclipse feels responsive on it ;)

chef
6th February 2012, 08:15
Brand new, bought yesterday. Excellent machine - even Eclipse feels responsive on it ;)

What spec?

eek
6th February 2012, 08:48
Excellent machine - even Eclipse feels responsive on it ;)

Thats a first.

Its the SSD that makes the difference really. With the Dell I picked up last week (Latitude E6520 top of range but not SSD £470 inc) adding the SSD moved it from being very good to blimey that's fast.

Churchill
6th February 2012, 08:50
What's the problem with Eclipse? It runs wonderfully on my 64 bit Win 7, 6 core Bulldozer setup :facepalm:

doodab
6th February 2012, 09:26
What's the problem with Eclipse? It runs wonderfully on my 64 bit Win 7, 6 core Bulldozer setup :facepalm:

Fine on my dual core laptop as well. Of course I do have 8gb RAM and an SSD, and I increased the starting heap size and switched off a chunk of autocompletes and autovalidations and disabled a few plugins i don't use.

I do keep meaning to try netbeans though.

NickFitz
6th February 2012, 12:45
What spec?

The biggest, but I didn't bother with the slightly faster processor - from various articles I've read, that's only really of value if you do a lot of video encoding and such, which I don't. The real speedup comes from the SSD, at least as far as the majority of develeopment-related work goes; and of course any old machine is capable of running trivial stuff like word processing and spreadsheets more than adequately these days.



I do keep meaning to try netbeans though.

I've been using Netbeans at ClientCo, but finally became disillusioned last week when I discovered that, if it's running on Windows, there's absolutely no way to get it to save a file with Unix line endings unless that file was originally created with them: any files it creates get the platform-it's-running-on's line endings, and can't be changed. (Similarly, if you use it to edit a file created elsewhere with Unix line endings, it can't be saved with DOS line endings even though you are running on Windows.) This was very annoying when I was trying to knock up a quick shell script for the STB, which runs a very barebones version of Linux. In the end I had to use dos2unix from a Cygwin shell :throw:

Fishface
6th February 2012, 13:22
you ever done it ?

I have an oldish Thinkpad I was gonna have a go on.