• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Freelance deisgner going Ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Freelance deisgner going Ltd

Hi All,

Just rang the IR35 Helpline, but apparently the ONE person who knows anything is on holiday until next Weds so I'm asking here. Sorry that it's another boring IR35 related question! I'll keep it brief...

I currently work as a freelance designer. My work is split between my own clients, and work gained thorugh various recruitment agencies. Contracts / jobs are normally between 1 day and 3 weeks, with some jobs dragging on for a couple of months.

The latest company I've worked for wants me to go Ltd before they'll pay me. Because of my working practices, I think I'm outside of IR35. Is that right?

Thanks for any help, it really is much appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Dave
    Last edited by davestewart; 13 May 2006, 10:30.

Join the PCG, then ask them and get definitive advice. Don't ask Hector anything.

The problem is s134C of the Finance Act 1984 - it makes a client potentially liable for contractors' unpaid NICs and PAYE if you don't pay them yourself. To get around this, they will only trade with you via a Limited company and they do not trade with Schedule D SEs. If they did, we would all be doing it!

It's nothing to do with IR35 per se, which is always assessed on a per contract basis, although if you have multiple concurrent clients it's a good pointer the right way.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

> it's a good pointer the right way.