• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Wannaba MAnagement Consultant

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wannaba MAnagement Consultant

Hi all

I've been looking tinto becoming a management consultant and wanted to get a real view of what it's like. I ve just applied for their grad scheme at Capgemini and looking to other grad schemes. I've been working self-employed pretty much since leaving uni in 2002, and the way they sell this job is entrepreneurial in nature and project based, which sounds great to me, but what's it really like??

I know about the long hrs- working for myself I'm used to working 16hrs a day- tick.
    Staying away from home- me likes variety. tick.

I hope that I haven't got a rosey view of this industry, so need some facts.

Thanks all.

ps I've heard about these public school boy toffs. Something to worry about, or am I really gonna be slapping someone instead?

ps I've heard about these public school boy toffs. Something to worry about, or am I really gonna be slapping someone instead?
    Word to the wise: you'll find many in the industry are ex-public school types, and with an attitude like that they will tear you to pieces. So my initial advice to you is #learn your place#.
    Insanity: repeating the same actions, but expecting different results.
    threadeds website, and here's my blog.

Comment

Originally posted by WannabeMconsultant
      Hi all